Fifty Shades

Published May 1, 2012 by Sara

I heard about this on the radio when my local DJ was talking about this books series towards the beginning of March and she had been hearing how this is a MUST read. She also went to Barnes & Noble to purchase only to find out it was special order and that the book cost a whopping $30. And the kicker, there are 2 other books in the series. So for $90, you get a trilogy.

Pfft, she walked out of there being as she could not justify the cost. Well, as soon as I got home, I found a Kindle version for her at $7.00. Sweet! I debated purcashing it, but settled on downloading the sample first.

I started to read it and put it down. But now the talk is starting up AGAIN about these books. Even my good friend Ang has read ALL 3 and she is telling me to read them. I even checked in with Elizabeth Kay from the Wmyx and she is yelling, “READ THEM!” lmao!!

Ok Ok, I get the hint ladies. Time to get off my lazy butt and read.

Good thing you are on the opposite side of the screen and can not see the plethora of books I have shrowded in my bedroom and in the bookcase in the dining room. It’s patheic. It truly is. I purchase a book with the idea that, “YES, I will read this.” And as soon as it finds a snuggly little home in between the other books I have claimed I will read, it will never see the light of day, ever, again. LOL I am holding it prisoner. 

I have books that I have started reading, I keep up with it for a week or so and poof, it disappears. I think maybe the other books are telling them to run when they have the chance. 

So maybe this time, with having eBooks. They will never disappear on me and I can’t ever misplace it. Because God knows, I sleep with my tablet. 

So I started to finish off the sample I had, which left me off at the end of the 3rd chapter, which really pissed me off. It wasn’t even at a part I felt inclined to keep reading, it left me at a part that really made me angry and not really a good way to draw people into the series. But I checked in with my friends again and they are both telling me, it gets better. 

So I have committed to purchasing my very first eBook. And now I can see if this book will make me want more, or simply leave me thinking, why-in-the-hell-am-I -reading-this-crap. I am not a romance novel type person and this is the direction Shades takes, only a slightly rougher S&M scale. 

I was talking with my friend Ang and told her the closest I EVER got to reading anything of that nature was V.C. Andrews and I was oddly drawn into her stories, even though they involved incest, which in some cases you didn’t know till AFTER the fact. (But when she passed away and her family still tried to publish under her name, the stories just are not the same. I tried reading the Orphan series and ugh, they need to just stop. I understood with publishing the novels she was working on before she died, but just stop….they are not her and never will be.)

So, now I am off to read my copy of Fifty Shades, which even my daughter Gwen wants to read when I am done. My Mom instinct kicked in and wanted to tell her she is too young to read this, but she’s 18. I basically don’t have that control anymore and time to loosen the reigns a bit otherwise she will never find her own two feet. 🙂 Also, even before she turned 18, I am sure after the shock of her asking wore off, I’d let her read it anyway…..

Leave a Reply

