Happy 2 Day

Published February 19, 2012 by Sara

Today is a celebration of two days. 

One, it’s my Mom’s birthday. She would have been 65 years old. There is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about her. But I am glad that after this day, things will start to ease up on me. It’s just crazy how after all this time, it still can make me feel really down. 

Two, this is my husband’s and mine’s 4 year wedding anniversary. BUT we have been together for 21 years. It truly doesn’t seem that long ago. But look at where we are now. 3 amazing kids, a house to call our own and all the memories we have made and have yet to make.

It’s funny how we even started dating. When I first met him, I could not stand him, along with his brother Roy. I got along with his brother Dale and Larry. I played with his sister Stella and his niece Annie, I would hang out on the corner and shoot the shit with his Mother. But I could not stand him. He always looked angry and he had the reputation of being a bully. 

At one point, I even stole his jump rope. At the time I didn’t know it was his, but I saw it laying on the sidewalk all by it’s lonesome and took it home, painted the handles and ran back outside to play with my “new” jump rope. Till he walked up to me and was telling me I had his jump rope, I swore up and down it was mine. All the while my heart was beating a thousand times a minute, being as he was a big kid. I was probably 10/11 at the time this happened.

Then several years later, I’m 17 and my friend Randy comes over to hang out and his has Art with him. I wasn’t too happy he brought him over, but as we got to talking, I realized, we aren’t those little kids anymore and he certainly had changed a lot. I thought he was a really nice guy.

And I am not sure when or where I started to see him as the man I would marry. I just remember one day looking at him and thinking, this is the man I am going to marry. And I still am happy with that decision. 

I’d be lying if I said there wasn’t a day that I sometimes question if this was a mistake, but we are all human, if we didn’t question our decisions, we wouldn’t know if we made the right choice. And I know, through our hard times and our good times, I know I have found the person I was meant to be with.

Leave a Reply

