Smarty Pants

Published December 21, 2011 by Sara

I am so proud of my children! They both came home with their report cards and they are BOTH on the Honor Roll. Julia was seasoned with A’s and B’s and reading above grade level, which floors me, being as last year we had to fight tooth and nail for her to do her reading homework. Well, now the reading bug has bitten and she has decided to start reading “Eclipse”. *Wow* I worry this may be a bit too old for her and she may not understand some things she reads, but she is determined to read it. And I’m not one to discourage my kids, being as we will see where this goes. And so far, she has been reading it for a straight week. I should have Gwen quiz her on the book, see just how much information she is processing. 

Emily, my extremely intelligent Emily. She is ALL A’s. She is performing everything above grade level. Her teachers always love having her, being as they will have the crazy students that act up, speak out and are just ruthless. The teachers are always relieved to have Emily, being as she reminds them why they love this job and give them something to look forward to. 

I don’t have Gwen’s report card, since she is in the middle of exams at the moment. So within a week or so we shall get her results.

I am “almost” done shopping. I just have maybe 2 more gifts to pick up. But in a bit I hope to sit down and take inventory of what I do have and to make sure it balances out. I know my kids don’t sit there and say, HEY she got more than me. But I just want to do a final check just to be sure. 🙂

I finally got to meet the new principal for my kids school and he is truly awesome. I think he is truly what this school needs and is giving the school a breath of fresh air. I was a little dissapointed to have the Christmas program at night, so I bypassed the afternoon show. But the turnout was CRAZY and shocker, I got there 40 minutes early and STILL was standing room only. I did get a seat, being as a parent offered me one, but WOW. I did not expect such a HUGE turnout. But the downside is that only half or 2/3’s of the students showed up. Mr. Vitrano is looking at possibly using another school to use for our programs, but I did suggest to him the bleacher seats that fold alongside the wall. And he said that is an idea and will be looking into those. Another one was knocking the wall down between the gym and the cafeteria. I even explained to him, if it ends up being a cost that doesn’t fit in the school budget, I will totally help out with fundraisers. I would really love to see our auditorium be large enough to accommodate the size of the school, since it was built with it being a small school and we have expanded to 8th grade about 5-6 years ago. I also was shocked to realize I have been an active figure with Manitoba since 1998. I have been around that school for 12 years. It’s going to be bittersweet when Julia is the last to graduate.

And I found out an interesting tidbit about our principal. His brother is a newscaster on WTMJ 4, Vince Vitrano. That is pretty cool and this would explain why the news has been at our school frequently. Which I thought was odd, but now it makes sense. 😉

I probably won’t be blogging again till after Christmas or the New Year, being as I am into final crunch time for everything. And I refuse to be up till 4am Christmas morning….

Leave a Reply

